Monday, May 2- All ball fields in Kirksville except for Gardner Field are closed due to wet field conditions.
Sign Up For Kirksville Newsletters & Notifications

Kirksville City Council

Council Agendas

Location & Time of Meetings

City Hall
201 S. Franklin
Kirksville, MO  63501

City Council Meetings
First & Third Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m.
City Hall Council Chambers

City Council Study Sessions
First & Third Monday of every month at 4:30 p.m.
City Hall Council Chambers

The City of Kirksville is a third-class city, operating under the Council-Manager form of government.

Each Council member fills a three-year position, after being voted into office by the city voters in an annual April election. The terms are staggered. Missouri law requires a Council candidate to be 21 years of age, a resident of the city for one year prior to the election, and a United States citizen. The City Council “appoints” a Mayor in April, following the election, for a one-year term. The Mayor must be at least 30 years of age, a resident of the city for two years preceding the election, and a United States citizen.  We welcome our citizens and interested parties to attend and participate in the City Council meetings.

Email the City Council Members at:

Richard Detweiler, Mayor
Glen Moritz, Mayor Pro Tem
Phillip Biston
Jerry Mills
Rick Steele

Meet the Kirksville City Council

Richard Detweiler -

Detweiler graduated from Kirksville Senior High School in 1972, and in 1982 he graduated from Truman State University with a B.S. in Business Administration.  He is on the Airport and Transportation Commission (ATC), and Fire Department Labor Management committee.

First elected in April 2008, he is serving his third term.  Detweiler served as Mayor from 2011 through 2013, and again in 2015.  His term expires in April 2016. 


Mayor Pro Tem Glen Moritz-

He is on the Planning & Zoning Commission, NEMO Regional Planning Commission Solid Waste Management Council, and NEMO Regional Planning Commission Solid Waste Mangement Council Executive Board.

First elected in April 2013, his term expires in April 2016.  Moritz served as Mayor in 2014


Council Member Phillip Biston- 

He is on the Kirksville Historic Preservation Commission.

First Elected in April 2015, his term expires in April 2018. 



Council Member Jerry Mills- 

He is on the Lakes, Parks and Recreation Commission (LPRC) and Governmental Affairs.  

First Elected in April 2011, he was re-elected in April 2014.  His term expires in April 2017.


Council Member Rick Steele- 

Steele is a fourth generation native of Kirksville.  In 1972, he graduated with an Associate's Degree in Law Enforcement and Corrections from Northeast Missouri State University, now Truman State University.  Steele served as the Director of Security for Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (KCOM), Kirksville Osteopathic Hospital (KOH), and then Director of Grim Smith Hospital until 1993, when he became a stock broker for The Principal Financial Group.  For the last 15 years, he has been with the Chariton Valley Association.

He is on the Affordable Housing Board, Kirksville Regional Economic Development, Inc. (K-REDI), and the NEMO Resource Conservation & Development Council.  

First elected in April 2014, his term expires in April 2017.


Return to the City of Kirksville Home Page.